New Microphone Zoom H1

After experimenting with my new mic, the Zoom H1 I was so inspired and made this new video. I have this non-stick foam mat that sounds really cool and it’s kind of sticky.
The video is only 20 minutes long, I was Up Late and my housemates and traffic were just starting their day, so I had to cut it short.

I think the levels are good this time, I’m not using the direct monitoring output on the H1, I’m using it in USB mic mode and monitoring through my PC. Again I’m using OBS to record – because the Logitech webcam software only lets me record audio with the built in mic, and I haven’t had a lot of luck with recording separate A/V and synchronising them. Using OBS to record both A/V in a single file is simpler for the time being. I think I’m starting to get my production groove too :p

I’m not super happy with the thumbnail, it kind of looks a bit washed out. But i’ll leave it. I use GIMP for editing images – I’m not super experienced with it and I’m always learning, so you’ll probably see me try a few different thumbnail styles.

My camera is now the most obvious future upgrade, I thought this Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 was okay, but it’s really quite lacking. I do have a pretty good smartphone, Oppo F1 and it can record in 720p60fps but there are a few reasons why I haven’t used it yet.
Firstly, I have no real way to mount the thing at an angle that works for my setup. I have experimented with a mount I made with a wire coat hanger that attaches to my monitor and that is okay, if not a but bouncy and a pain to set up. I may use that if I can sort out the other issues. The audio sync is another issue. My phone only records at a variable framerate, if you select 30 or 60 fps, that will be the target but it still varies. So synchronisation is a nightmare. I can actually plug the H1 into my phone’s USB OTG connector and select use it as the video mic, but for some reason the it’s super out of sync, like almost 3 seconds. I have been told that I can run it through Handbrake to get a fixed fps, but I still have to figure that out.

Anyway, I hope you guys like this one, I think the sound is really good!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

